Show and Don’t Tell: In a Nutshell   4 comments

Prague - Czech Republic

Prague by Samuca° via Flickr

Below find a perfect example of Show and Don’t Tell in this short story by fellow WordPress blogger, A.S.J. Ellis. It takes a lot to impress me when it comes to short story writing. This story does it in spades!

I found myself one afternoon on meth amphetamine, talking to a very serious, slightly tearful, but suicidal meth addict at his spacious apartment in the centre of Prague. (Read more…)

“Smoking in Prague”   http://asjellis.wordpress.com/2011/10/06/smoking-in-prague-i/

Can you give reason why this story works?

4 responses to “Show and Don’t Tell: In a Nutshell

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hi Ledia, I just nominated your blog for a Versatile Blog award at https://fmpoetry.wordpress.com/. All the details are on the site. Thanks for sharing your words and wisdom, and best of luck for 2012! Marc.

    • Thank you so much, Marc. What an honor! You really made my day. I like your blog very much as well. I even told my Monday night writing group about it and Folding Mirror Poetry. I plan to talk about it in depth at poetry night next Monday and to give your blog as a reference.

      I look forward to reading more of your poetry and want to wish you a prosperous and very Happy Year of the Water Dragon!

Leave a Reply

