1 comment

FicFaq

The first time I read Gabriel García Márquez, I wanted to write like him. It was one thing wanting to, and quite another being able to. But I learnt a lot of lessons along the way.

1. Desire: In 1951, Márquez returned from a trip home to Aracataca, his home town, to write Leaf Storm (1955), his first novel. ‘From the moment I wrote Leaf Storm I realized I wanted to be a writer and that nobody could stop me and that the only thing left for me to do was to try to be the best writer in the world.’

2. First sentences are important: First sentences are important for they ‘can be the laboratory for testing the style, the structure and even the length of the book.’ Each and every Márquez book begins with a stunner. From One Hundred Years of Solitude (1967): ‘Many years later, as he…

View original post 685 more words

Posted May 5, 2012 by LediaR in Uncategorized

One response to “

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Pingback: Macondo « Carlos Felice

Leave a Reply

